The Bovine

Forum Member
Car Year
Car Model
Forester
Transmission
Auto
Hey folks,

I am new to this whole forum and I have read a lot of really good stuff on here. You guys obviously know your stuff. So to give you a little back story I picked up a bone stock 05 forester xt for about $1200 and I love it. It's got about 170k on it, I looked forward to getting my hand dirty wrenching on the thing and truly making it my own. I've taken it to a shop to get it checked out for any major issues. I've replaced the Timing belt, pulleys, water pump and thermostat etc. any ways the shop is taking care of a couple more things for me. Anyways I am a WildLand firefighter and my base camp is located out in the middle of no where and I am so stoked to finally have something I can build up to be an off road beast. I understand I have a lot of miles on this rig and thankfully it was owned by some people who seemed to have not tore the thing up to bad. I need ideas, Wisdom, things not to do, things to do. I am here and very eager to learn from you folks. Thank you so much for your time.
My Ideas, so far

2" ADF lift kit

beefy off-road suspension (maybe by Xcceleration Racing Subaru Coilovers?)

Method Race Wheels MR501 VT-SPEC 2 15x7 5x100 +48 (Tire ideas?)

Skid Plate(s)

Deer Killer (Front Bumper, They're a hazard out there)

Lightbar(s)

Stage 2 Cobb set up

Roof Rack and Or Roof Top Tent

STI 6 Sp Swap? LOL now I'm dreaming... But seriously maybe one day...

I am sure I missed some things, anyways give me your honest thoughts and wisdom seriously point me in the right direction. I know height might be an issue which is why I am looking to put a little more power in the engine but I understand with the OEM auto TC I can't put to much power in my engine with out sacrificing a bit of reliability.

Alright I'm done... Thanks again peeps!

Hi !

Buy local, take a Subieliftoz 2" lift kit ! Sorry, didn't see you are local to ADF....!