• Upgrade to XenForo 2.2.15 has completed

Has anyone used a wheel winch? (aka Bush Winch)

peetsweet

Forum Member
Hi,

Has anyone ever used a wheel winch or the "Bush winch kit"?

www.bushwinch.com.au

It looks like a good idea but im pretty new to offroading and I dont want to waste my hard earned.

Thanks
Pete

"personaly" i dont like em. you've got a rope either side of your car, so what happens when you need to veer left or right for wheel placement or one wheel looses traction? also looks like your anchor points have to be straight ahead of your car and parrallel to some point. give me a hand winch anyday. other advantage to a hand winch is human power. dont need to rely on the cars power if the car wont start.

I do offroad training, including winching - I am yet to see anyone with one of these, and personally I have some doubts about them. I'd strongly suggest you get yourself a small Tirfor (or if you are strapped for $, one of the other reputable brands of hand winch). Slow, but very very flexible and useful pieces of gear.

If you do decide to get one of these wheel winches though, be sure to let us all know how if goes!

A lot of good points made. Thanks for your help. I can't find anyone who has actually used one of these.
I'll probably go for the hand winch

Pete

If you had sufficient storage for a bush winch it and your dollars are probably better used for a portable 12v winch

I was looking at these till I saw the price.

They are safe as the US Army used them constantly. They fell out of favor once the electric whinch was perfected.

I would buy one, but I can not see any reason why one would be almost 1000.00 dollars for what it is.

I would also question if it works with open diffs e.g. you could mount it on the rear and lose all your power through a front spinning wheel (or visa versa)

Won't work with open diffs and AWD. As you can get one wheel spin!